SHADOWS OF ROMANCE EPISODE 13

I got to a nearby mini police station very close to my house, made a formal report and requested for police protection.
My request was however turned down by a police inspector who claimed that my request was highly unnecessary, that i had no justifiable cause to demand for police protection.
He simply asked me to go home and report back when my life gets threatened. A comment which totally annoyed and forced me to raise my voice on him.
“oga we can’t just assign a police officer to be babysitting you 24hours a day for who knows how long. We don’t have the manpower, we can only spare a man if you want him for a day or two which isn’t the case with you. I think you should go to our area command or state headquarters to make your request, moreover do know that it’s going to cost you a lot. One other thing i noticed is that you are not coming out clean with us. You claim your life is in danger yet you can’t provide anything or clue to back up your claims” the officer turned me down with his terrible English.
I bit my lips eyed him and left the station angrily. It was obvious he wasn’t ready to help and the last thing on my mind was telling him the whole reason i needed protection. Of course i couldn’t open my mouth and blab how i stole my friend’s girl to him.
As i headed to my car, I noticed a policeman running after me. I stopped and stared at him searchingly.
“oga i’m sorry for the little drama that happened between you and our boss” he apologized as he stopped before me, breathing with excitement, he gave me a piece of paper which had a phone number in it.
“just call the guy. He does this kind of odd jobs. Bodyguard, security, anything. His name is Peter, he’s ex-military” he informed me. I smiled, fetched a Ten Cedis from my pocket and handed to him.
“thanks” i said with appreciation.
Driving out of the police station, I called the man who luckily was close by.
“drive over to ring road and call me. I’ll be waiting there” Peter said to my delight, but as i drove towards Ring road to meet him, i got a shocking phone call from my gas station manager.
“oga our tanker is on fire oooo. Some guys just came in, attacked us and lit up the tanker” he poured out, leaving me gasping for air with the revelation.
“what!!” i screamed, totally shocked and angry. I couldn’t believe that a tanker i bought some months back with Jay’s help was suddenly attacked and lit up. I needed no telling that my friend Jay was behind the dastardly act.
“Jay why?, why my Tanker?” i cried as i slowly realised that perhaps his revenge was to finish me off by leaving me totally broke, thereby rendering me incapable of sustaining Irene.
“oh no, now i get you bro” i sobbed.
I drove over to Ring road, picked up Peter and furiously headed to my gas station. We discussed the job at hand as i drove. His answers were cool and encouraging, just like his appearance which was very intimidating.
I cried out on getting to my gas station where my tanker burned uncontrollably. Firefighters and my staff were busy, desperately trying to put out the raging fire.
I almost collapsed, watching an investment that cost me millions of Cedis burn.
“oh Jay you will pay for this. You must surely pay” i swore with my heart while tears freely fell from my eyes.
“oga you shouldn’t be crying publicly. At least the gas station isn’t affected. The body of the tanker is still redeemable, it’s just the engine and driver’s corner that is on fire” Peter said quietly, trying to calm me. I simply hissed and eyed him.
The fire was finally extinguished about twenty five minutes later, but the level of damage it created was quite shocking. The Tanker was just a shadow of itself. I couldn’t get myself to look at it.
After settling with my staff and firefighters who saved the day. I headed out to confront Jay. I was ready for a showdown. The anger in me was capable of killing him.
There wasn’t any doubt he hit me where it hurt most. Of course he was clever going after my tanker, something he knew i valued very well.
A business man survives and lives for his business. Take out the business and the man behind the business is vulnerable to bankruptcy, poverty, hunger and death.
“hope you have something on you?. Hope you are armed?” i asked Peter as i furiously drove to confront Jay. He looked at me with surprise.
“no sir, I wasn’t expecting to start work today” he stammered.
“but you do have a gun?. You have weapons?” i asked curiously.
“yes sir. I have a licensed pistol” he answered carefully.
“good we are going to get it. So how do we get to your house?” i asked, stopping my car in a corner. He breathed deeply and stared at my cold face.
“oga what are you trying to do?” he asked.
“we are going to confront the guy who just burnt my tanker, but first we must go get your gun” i said seriously. He shook his head, his face growing pale with worry.
“sir i’m not an assassin. I took this job because you wanted a bodyguard” he stammered, while i scoffed.
“i’m not asking you to kill anybody. We are heading to my enemy’s house and it’s logical as my bodyguard your weapon must be with you to protect me” i answered sharply. He shrugged with a shoulder.
“sir seriously with the mood you are in. I fear the worst” he murmured carefully.
“i need the direction to your house” i barked.
“fine drive on and take right when you get to the junction ahead” he said slowly. I gave him a searching look, drew back and drove on.
I wasn’t going to let Jay destroy me because of a woman. I had to man up and beat him once again….

If you were to be Peter, will you give your boss the gun? Also if you were to be the victim will you pay Jay back? Comment as your suggestion can change the story to  your interest.

 

Click to read what happen between Peter, Jay and Emma.

© PEMTSIKATA STORIES

Leave a Reply

